Flipboard: iPhone app that will flip you out

I am a self-confessed compulsive reader who brings my books to snuggle with in bed, on trains and unashamedly into toilets.

As such I found it almost pertinent to find a great reading app on use on my iPhone, which I find is a handy and convenient tool to browse for the latest news and information.

I was definitely pleased after downloading Flipboard because it is such a beautifully crafted app that not only fulfills my basic requirements but also has such a sleek interface that I almost flipped out with excitement.

The most eye-catching feature of Flipboard is its magazine-style layout that is grid based, minimalistic and graphics orientated. Such a layout, I find, is preferable than the timeline form of display favored by apps such as Hootsuite and Tweetcaster because it is more reader friendly particularly when using my phone on the go.

Rather than scrolling through a whole jumbled list of news headlines, often resulting in skimming and skimping through information, Flipboard presents each piece of news item as an attractive package of image, words and links. And if you were to click on the link, it opens up almost instantaneously on Flipboard instead of redirecting you to another website, which can be an annoyingly long wait.

But the definitely plus point of Flipboard is that it not only aggregates your Tweets and Facebook feeds but it also suggests sites and blogs based on various categories of interests that you have pre-selected, including news, technology, style and sports.

So I find myself flipping through new blogs and sites I would have otherwise rarely visit such as Glamour magazine, National Geographic Traveler and Fotopedia magazine.

This app is currently only available on the iPhone and iPad, which is a bummer if you are an Android or Windows phone user.

Otherwise, I would concur with tech blog Techcrunch’s opinion that Flipboard is certainly one of the Top 20 iPhone apps of 2011.

2 thoughts on “Flipboard: iPhone app that will flip you out

  1. I actually do the same on my iPod, and I think this app would be great for those quiet times when I want to catch up on the news. It would definitely be easier than using the iPod browser.

Leave a Reply

