Announcement: Amazon Affiliate program

Dear readers,

I am going to be part of the Amazon Affiliate program.

If you have not heard of it, it is a program for bloggers to earn referral rates from every purchase made through their blogs.

Disclaimer: It is not in my intention to compel anyone to buy books exclusively from Amazon. Rather, I see it as a win-win situation for (1) readers interested in the books mentioned on my blog and have always or might consider buying it through Amazon to access the link conveniently, and (2) myself, who also gain some earnings in the process.

More importantly, all current and future reviews on this blog are and will not be influenced by this program. They will remain as my earnest and honest opinions of books I have read, and I am still open to a wide selection of books to read, regardless if they are listed on Amazon. I will continue to post reviews on locally published and out-of-print books not available online.

Through this program, my main aim is to hopefully generate a small but sustainable amount of cash that would go back to buying more books to read and review on this blog.

So this is how it works: Click on text and image links on my blogpost, which will bring you to the Amazon.com page. It is only if you purchase the book from Amazon.com. through my links will I earn the referral fee.

If you do enjoy reading my reviews and would consider making your purchases from Amazon.com, do click on the links!

8 thoughts on “Announcement: Amazon Affiliate program

  1. I wonder does being member of Amazon Affiliate program mean that Amazon would listen to you, if you tell them how unfair they are to foreign buyers?

    I HAVE bought from Amazon, as gift for my American friends. But were I buy for myself, the shipping and handling costs would be more than cost of the book!

  2. Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m
    planning to start my own blog in the near
    future but I’m having a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  3. Thank you! I hadn”t heard of the Amazon Affiliate program before, but as you say, it sounds like a win-win set up.
    As an English author, I’m guessing it DOESN’T apply to books bought on Amazon.co.uk or any of their other regional offshoots. They don’t tend to give equal rating to the rest of the world.
    When I asked Amazon why none of my lovely (UK) customer reviews showed up on my author page in the US, they said it was their policy not to include any until someone in the States had posted a review on Amazon.com. Sigh.
    Anyhow, good luck with the affiliate program and I’ll check out whether I can use it on my blog to promote my own book Life: A Player’s Guide. 🙂

    1. Thanks Jan for your lovely answers! I surely didn’t know the different regions do affect the reviews and ratings shown on Amazon page, so kudos to you for informing everyone about it.

      I do hope that this affiliate program would help you with promoting your book (:

  4. I’m rather new to your blog, but I look forward to reading more of your reviews. When I can, I’d be more than happy to support your affiliate effort. It seems an appropriate trade-off! 🙂 Debra

    1. Hey there, I’m not entirely sure about the different regions and it wasn’t explicitly stated either. Sorry I couldn’t be of much help!

Leave a Reply

