Banned Books Week!

BBW13_300x250

Banned books week celebrates our freedom to read, which for all book lovers and me is a truly important right of access. It is a campaign held throughout this week to raise awareness of censorship and also emphasizes on the right to free and open information.

The American Library Association has pulled together comprehensive lists of books frequently challenged and the reasons for it. CLICK HERE for the lists of frequently challenged books.

I have to say I was surprised by some of them, especially classics, which I thought were fantastically brilliant. Growing up, I was rather fortunate because I have access to my public library and was never banned from reading any particular book, such as Roald Dahl’s “The Witches” and “James and the Giant Peach,” both are on the list of the 100 most challenged books in the 20th century.

So here is a list of five challenged books I think you should read:
1. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
2. Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
3. The Perks of Being A Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky
4. 1984 by George Orwell
5. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

And another five challenged books I want to read:
1. Slaughterhouse-five by Kurt Vonnegut
2. A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemmingway
3. The Kite Runner, by Khaled Hosseini
4. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
5. The Captain Underpants series by Dav Pilkey

Have I missed out any ‘banned’ books that you think deserves a read? Do share it below!

12 thoughts on “Banned Books Week!

  1. I love all the attention to banned books this week! My favorites are Slaughterhouse-Five, The Handmaid’s Tale, The Bell Jar, and The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Leave a Reply

