Top 8 reads of 2013

Best reads
As the year is coming to an end, I have compiled some of the best books I have personally read that left lasting impressions upon me. It has been a wonderful year where I had the chance to touch base with some classics whilst keeping up with new titles as well as look at a few independently published books. Below is the eclectic mix I have put together and hope they will provide inspirations for your holiday shopping or reading list.

P.S.: Most of the books listed do have individual reviews. Click on the titles to read them.

1. Alex


Hands down the best thriller I have read in quite a while. Packed with loads of surprises page after page, this French crime novel is, in my opinion, one of the most underrated gem of the year.

2. A Tale for the Time Being

A tale for the time being
A mesmerizing piece that attempts to transcend linearity of time and singularity of space through Japanese Zen philosophy. “Time itself is being, he wrote, and all being is time… In essence, everything in the universe is intimately linked with each other as moments in time, continuous and separate.” Get it?

3. The Goldfinch


Listed as Amazon’s book of the year, this third book by Donna Tartt is a hefty read at more than 700 pages long. At the moment, I am only about halfway through but already reckon it is worth including into this list because, well, it is worth the hype.

4. The Moon Dwellers

The Moon Dwellers
Fans of The Hunger Games trilogy will fall in love with this young adult series where citizens live in a dystopic world built underground and lorded over by an authoritarian president. Written and self-published by independent author David Estes, this book hits all the right notes and makes me want for more.

5. Silver Linings Playbook

The silver linings playbook
The movie adaptation of this book has been incredibly successful during this year’s Oscars Award, with lead actress Jennifer Lawrence bagging the best actress title. But the book also makes for a lovely read with its uplifting and positive messages that I have already given a few copies to some of my friends.

6. Born To Run

Born to run
Dedicated to running, this is an all-encompassing book that covers everything from the kinesiology to the business of the sport. I picked it up while suffering from sharp knee pains, and believe it or not, some of the advice saved me from the ailment. Non-runners will also be fascinated by the anthropological search for a hidden Mexican tribe who is believed to be able to run barefooted for long distances.

7. Quiet

Quiet- The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking
Get into the minds of the introverts with this compelling read about the importance of being silent in a world that has been filled too much noise. Passionately argued about how introverts are being undervalued in our society, there is much to learn inside this book.

8. Heads in Beds


This memoir is a no holds barred, straight talk from a hospitality veteran as he dishes the dirt about the hotel industry. Packed with a ton of humour, I was most impressed by the tips (legal ones) the author doles out to help customers, like us, get the very best service from any hotel.

On a side note, HERE is my list of best reads in 2012.

21 thoughts on “Top 8 reads of 2013

    1. Quiet is such a lovely book that gave me new understandings about how and why different personalities react under different situations. Very interesting and informative, and hope it has also been for you.

  1. Good list! I’m looking forward to reading The Goldfinch. I read and loved Quiet – I wrote a post about it in my blog. And my runner husband read Born to Run and has been highly recommending it to all his runner friends. Thanks for your ideas and Happy New Year!

  2. Wonderful list! Half of these books are on my own to-read list, and the others look intriguing as well, either for myself or for someone I know. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

