Book review: The Rosie Project

Rosie Project“The Rosie Project” by Graeme Simsion was a book that I picked up at the airport recently before heading off for my beach holiday. I know it is a bit early to be talking about the sun, sand and sea at this time of the year especially if you live in the northern hemisphere, but I live in the tropics so the heat is here all year round. (:

While at the beach, I did a brief scan at what everyone else was reading while enjoying the sea breeze and warm sunshine. Some of the titles that popped up included “Fifty Shades of Gray” and “Confessions of a Shopaholic,” which threw me into fits of laughter, but hey, to each his own.

For me, “The Rosie Project” was my kind of holiday read – light, funny and easy to get through.

Don Tillman, a 39-year-old genetics professor, is looking for love. But he is tired of socializing and dating because he is not very good at making friends and finds it a complete waste of time to ‘invest’ in a girl who is not suitable as his partner. To solve his problem, he decides the best way will be to create a scientifically engineered set of questionnaire, with the aid of statistics and mathematics, to help him suss out a partner.

“I did feel that the questionnaire was now less discriminating, but was still confident I would eliminate most of not all of the women who had given me problems in the past. Apricot Ice-cream Woman would have failed at least five questions.”

What made this book such an adorable read is because of Don’s character who is self-admittedly socially inept as a result of his asperger syndrome, and runs his life like a metronome, methodologically categorizing every aspect of his life with little surprises or changes. Even his daily meals or what he calls the Standardized Meal System are all designed and repeated on loop week after week. Below are some of the advantages he lists:

– Standard shopping list – hence very efficient shopping.
– Almost zero waste- nothing in the refrigerator or pantry unless required for one of the recipes.
– Diet planned and nutritionally balanced in advance.

Pix taken by me from recent beach trip
Pix taken by me from recent beach trip

So when Don met Rosie Jarman, a vegetarian who is perpetually late and disorganized (traits that are big boo-boos for Don), he is certain of her incompatibility for his Wife Project but allowed himself to get more involved with her. And that was just the start of throwing his life into a complete frenzy even he was unable to logically comprehend with.

This book reminds me of the TV series “The Big Bang Theory,” having the similar stereotypes they cast about nerdy people in the academic community with a good dash of geeky humor that I fancy. This book in my opinion makes a good, relaxing holiday read over a pint of chilled beer or a cup of coffee.

What are your favorite books to bring along on a beach holiday? Let me know in the comments below!

14 thoughts on “Book review: The Rosie Project

  1. I haven’t tried reading while on a beach holiday. I’m too pumped up to enjoy swimming and chit-chatting with whoever I’m with. Would love to try that someday though. I think my choice of book would be a good comedy too. Love your review on The Rosie Project. I’m definitely going to get this soon.

    1. I enjoy having a bit of me-time during beach holidays to whip my book out and indulge in reading. If you love good college humour, you’ll love The Rosie Project too 🙂

  2. I just finished this book last night – I thought it was good read too. Definitely easy to get lost in. At first glance, it doesn’t seem like you’re typical love story, but I like how it has all the elements of one! Great post!

  3. Interesting review and I tend to be into some nerdy and geeky type stuff so I will keep this book in mind. Right now, I’ve accumulated quite a few books that struck me as interesting so my TBR pile is quite long. As for reading at the beach, I don’t have a specific type of book. It would be whatever book I am reading at the time.

  4. Hey now, the Shopaholic books are hilarious! Excellent beach reading. Fifty Shades of Grey…I read them, devoured them really but am still so embarassed to have done so.

    I LOVED The Rosie Project. So delightful and charming and lovely. I’m glad you enjoyed it too – sounds like the beach was a pretty perfect spot for this one.

Leave a Reply

