Mid-year top 3 reads

Holy smokes! 2014 has gone by in a blitz and we are already half way through this year. The first half of my year has been filled with work, writing and a lot of anxious anticipations, but I am thankful that amidst all these flurry of events, I did squeeze in time for a lovely beach treat.

As for reading, I have been pacing myself pretty well being halfway through my estimated target of 40 books by the end of this year as well ass having incorporating more classics as part of my reading staple. Follow me on GoodReads for my latest book challenge progress.

Below are my top 3 reads thus far and let me know down in the comments box if I have missed out on any great releases this year that I should get my paws on!

Mid year top 31. ‘Thank You For Your Service’ by David Finkel
A thought-evoking piece about American war veterans and their post-war traumatic experiences they face back home. This is a painful and emotional read into the soldiers’ struggles against their internal demons, where they even attempted to take their own lives.

2. ‘Gone Girl’ by Gillian Flynn
This is a brilliant thriller about marriage life, which I have to say is an unusual combination that got me interested in it. And it lived up to its expectations, never failing to surprise me at every turn with a new twist.

3. ‘Hollow City’ by Ransom Riggs
This is the sequel to Riggs’ debut hit “Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children” which proved to be as good as the first packed with creepy black and white photographs to complement the dark fantasy literature. Needless to say, I was impressed by the work and cannot wait for the next book to be out.

12 thoughts on “Mid-year top 3 reads

  1. Hi! I’ve been following your blog and thought of leaving you a comment, since you chose one of my favourite books. 2014 has not been very good (I’m not even half way through my Goodreads challenge of 30 books read), but Gone Girl was one of the few I read (and a huge surprise too!). It will be one of my next reviews for sure. Happy readings!

    1. Thank you so much for regularly dropping by my blog and it’s always lovely to have regular readers dropping messages in the comments box, so would love to continue hearing from you! Plus, it’s only halfway through the year, lots more time to slowly make your way through your book challenge. Let’s do this together (:

  2. Loved Gone Girl, too. I’ve read part of Miss Peregrine’s, but it sounds like I need to finish it and this second book as well. Thanks for the heads up!

    Oh, Thank You for Your Service looks great. I’m reading a similar book called The Invisible Front that deals with the soldiers when they return home.

Leave a Reply

